jump to navigation

Meet the New Medicine Woman July 6, 2009

Posted by Wapello Warbler in People, Wapello.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I’d like to introduce you to our new medicine woman, Elaine Walker.  Elaine is the new physician’s assistant at UI Family Care in Wapello.  Here she is, waving hello.

Elaine Walker, PA

Elaine Walker, PA-C

If you are a patient at UI Family Care and have one of the many routine ailments that plague humankind, Elaine will probably provide most of your care.

She comes to us from Oregon and currently resides in Burlington with her five dogs. She’s outgoing, friendly, and strikes me as pretty sharp.

Now my assessment may not mean a lot to you. I’m easily impressed by medical people, you see, but my insurance company isn’t. Yet, even those folks (who are paid to second guess her advice on my medications) were convinced when she called and explained exactly why I needed pills that weren’t on their list of approved drugs.

When I asked Elaine if there was anything in particular that she would like me to tell you, she told me she was a Messianic Jew. Another way to say that would be to say that she is Jewish, but believes in Jesus Christ as her savior from sin–just like Paul and the other apostles.

Anyway, if you see her out for a walk during lunch, say hello and make her feel welcome. I expect her to be a blessing to our community.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

